Khal Drogo and Daenerys- Game of Thrones

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=3XVHyhLB8Hg

Two things about this scene.

1: The erotic moments between Daenerys and her servant are beautiful. I wish they’d gone further. (But I always do.) however, the treatment I see here is still beholden to the whole idea that female bisexuality is only there for men’s pleasure, so it ruins for me what could have been a poignant scene. I understand that the set-up with the Dothraki coming into this story is that they’re base savages who treat women like property, but still. It feels all too familiar, but to the show’s credit, they did try to do what they could, and it does awaken something in Daenerys. I just wish, like always that the awakening not be treated like a passing phase or a just a stepping stone to men. After the death of Khal Drogo, I had hoped the show would revisit this scene and have Daenerys fall in love with a woman. After all there are male/male relationships on the show, so why not? Then maybe we can actually show a female/female love story in the serious and respectful light it deserves. And Daenerys is a very strong character. But… I don’t ever hold out a lot of hope for American television. Or film. Not yet.

2: I stopped really paying attention to this show when Khal Drogo was killed off. The chemistry between him and Daenerys was spot on. Easily the most interesting storyline in the show, in my opinion. I know she has her own interesting story outside of Drogo, and I’m glad they’ve kept such a strong female character at the center of the show. But- I’m a fanatic of sexuality and tension, and these two had it. Passion in that scene. Passion. Plus, Khal Drogo might very well be the most beautiful man I’ve ever seen. No, he definitely is. Sexy on a level that is…dangerous. Just…God. Look at him. Absolutely fucking ridiculously gorgeous.

~ by hln351 on March 19, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
