Thoughts.

Just finished a fabulous British film- Bedrooms and Hallways. Sexuality is all over the place in the story- straight guy falls for gay guy, gay guy falls for a straight woman, Hugo Weaving ties a guy to a bed and has his way with him (seriously, where has that scene been all my life! Fucking Elrond involved in some guy on guy BDSM, that’s straight out of my wacked out high as a kite wildest dreams right there.) I loved it. Fantastic. Everyone’s challenged, everyone’s happy. Now, of course, that’s not entirely realistic because we know it wouldn’t be so smooth a transition out here in the real world, but that’s the beauty of fiction- it can be whatever the hell we want it to be. And it has the distinct advantage of showing us what life could be like if we just let go of all our inhibitions.

It was nice to step away for a bit from the ubiquitous doom and gloom of so many same gender/transgender love stories and watch a sweet romantic comedy. Gotta do that, gotta remind ourselves of what the hell we’re working towards, and if we end up anything like Bedrooms and Hallways, I’ll be ecstatic. Plus, I mean, Hugo Weaving- HUGO MOTHERFUCKIN WEAVING- in a gay BDSM scene.

*****

Something I’ve been thinking a lot about recently- why is it that when we use the words masculine or feminine we immediately attribute them to male and female, respectively? Masculine and feminine aren’t exclusive to male or female. Both genders can inhabit the masculine and the feminine. Men can be feminine, they can have traditionally feminine characteristics like intuition, sensitivity, maternal love. And women can have traditionally masculine characteristics like cold reason, rage, and the “Hunter” gene. I just don’t understand when people immediately assume that men are only masculine and women are only feminine. Feminine doesn’t mean female, masculine doesn’t mean male. They’re just concepts, ideas- that’s it. There’s nothing that says they’re exclusive to one gender- in fact, they’re pretty all over the place. That’s humanity, right? So why are we so freaked out when we meet a feminine male or a masculine woman? Why is it we can’t figure out a male who has killer intuition or is a stay at home parent, or a female who is the main breadwinner or a soldier? Haven’t we been exposed to enough of the extreme variations of life where none of this should surprise us? I don’t get it. It drives me insane.

*****

I’m back into the X-Men subtext full force, trying to wrap it up. I love the hidden story- it’s so beautiful. So, so beautiful. It’s no secret that I’m obsessed with Charles Xavier and Erik Lehnsherr. What bothers me so much about these films is that even though I understand what the creators and writers are trying to do- trying to introduce the idea of a love story between them slowly so people can transition their brains- it still bothers me that it’s done entirely subtextually. At some point, they’re going to have to make the love story obvious, they’re going to have to reveal it to the mass audience. I’m hoping to GOD that they have the balls to do this, I really do. I found an interview with Simon Kinberg, one of the main writers for the last film in the new X-Men trilogy, Apocalypse, and this quote stuck out to me:

“If First Class was Erik’s story and Days of Future Past is Charles’ story, then Apocalypse will be both of their stories. The first movie was about Erik becoming empowered. That’s the origin story of a man’s power. Days of Future Past is about a guy who is a mess, masterminding the end of this massive movie. So they are both at their peak powers at the start of Apocalypse, so Apocalypse for me is the culmination of that three-act love story.” -Simon Kinberg.

LOVE story. Erik and Charles are a LOVE story. I just hope with this last film they’ll uncover that for all to see. Because, honestly, it’s not doing any good at all just staying in the subtext. It’s ruining an otherwise beautiful story, and we’re moving past the days when all queer romances in film need to be hidden. We have to bring these things to light. I’m hoping that quote, the quotes from Zach Stentz, and the direction the subtext is headed means we’ll see it. I know I harp on this a lot, but these guys have the *perfect* platform to address these issues in a pop culture setting that would have mass appeal. I don’t want to see Apocalypse end without Charles and Erik getting their due. I mean, the movie is called Apocalypse- I just hope it lives up to its name. End of the current world, beginning of the new one.

~ by hln351 on March 18, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
