Undertow- Miguel and Santiago

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=gm1-tDY-esU

Most of my writing today has been centered around this film- taken notes on the *incredible* chemistry between the two male leads, their amazing love story- but to be completely honest, this movie absolutely crushed my soul today. It’s so fucking beautiful, but at the same time, it’s heartbreaking- I mean HEARTBREAKING. It crushed me. The whole premise of the film is the love story between a well respected fisherman, Miguel, who lives in a small Peruvian seaside village and painter/photographer, Santiago, who used to visit the village with his family during his childhood summers. Somewhere in that time frame, Miguel and Santiago fell in love. In a very Catholic village, this is tantamount to suicide. Miguel knows this, so he marries and starts a family so he can keep his job and his reputation. But Santiago always returns, and the two continue their clandestine love affair. However, as is expected, villagers begin to talk when they see the two of them together. The story turns at this point into a heartbreaking ghost story that leads the two men down into the one of the most bittersweet endings I’ve ever seen. It’s fucking… awful, I could barely keep watching- too emotional. I can see why this film won so many awards, including best picture at the Sundance Film Festival in 2009 (I think it was?) There’s a lot of hope in the film as well, but it’s overshadowed quite a bit (in my opinion) by the sadness surrounding the two men.

Honestly, after seeing this amazing piece, I may step away from films like this for a while just so I can regain composure. Stories like these affect me too much- it’s a fault of mine, I’ve always had it. I’ve got plenty of other things to read and watch and write about…it may be time for me to step back for a bit. I cannot allow myself to burn out, and if I keep absorbing stories like these day in and day out, I definitely will.

Time to flip over the coin for a while.

~ by hln351 on March 16, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
