Frederick the Great and Hans Herman Von Katte

“When he was 18, Frederick plotted to flee to England with Hans Hermann von Katte and other junior army officers. While the royal retinue was near Mannheim in the Electorate of the Palatinate, Robert Keith, Peter’s brother, had an attack of conscience when the conspirators were preparing to escape and begged Frederick William for forgiveness on 5 August 1730;[11] Frederick and Katte were subsequently arrested and imprisoned in Küstrin. Because they were army officers who had tried to flee Prussia for Great Britain, Frederick William leveled an accusation of treason against the pair. The king threatened the crown prince with the death penalty, then considered forcing Frederick to renounce the succession in favour of his brother, Augustus William, although either option would have been difficult to justify to the Imperial Diet of the Holy Roman Empire.[12] The king forced Frederick to watch the decapitation of his confidant Katte at Küstrin on 6 November, leaving the crown prince to faint away and suffer hallucinations for the following two days.[13]

Many historians have considered whether Frederick the Great was homosexual or bisexual (and perhaps possibly celibate), and his relationship with Hans Hermann von Katte was widely speculated in the Prussian court to be romantic.[13] After Katte’s execution by Frederick’s father, Frederick was forced to marry Elisabeth Christine of Brunswick-Bevern, with whom he had no children. He immediately separated from his wife when Frederick William I died in 1740. In later years, Frederick would pay his wife formal visits only once a year.[142]”

from the Wikipedia entry on LGBT Royalty, Frederick the Great.

When I read this tonight, I started to cry. On the spot. My fucking God…I can’t even imagine. And they both were so young. These two absolutely have to be in my stories. What the actual fuck- my God. They’re on my list to research. I have to include them, I have to. They jumped out of the screen during my reading tonight. This is something Eros would’ve been involved in- especially how it ended, considering the time period. I just can’t even imagine. I can’t wrap my head around being forced to watch the beheading of the one you love. And given only TWO DAYS to grieve, then forced into marriage.

So many of these stories- in fact, nearly all of them- end with death or extreme heartbreak or forced separation. Sometimes all three, like the one. I read things like this, I watch films where, not even in 2015, two people of the same gender cannot be together despite their desire to be, and I do it day in and day out. I have moments of crushing depression where I think- I’ll never see it, I’ll never see the day when this is no longer an issue, when love can reign in all her many glories, I’ll never see it and all these stories will continue to end in agony. I had a moment of that today. Several moments actually.

But, in my heart of hearts, I know I’ll see this battle won during my lifetime. And I’ll see a bit of the healing and the redefinition of love settle in. I see it reflected in stories everywhere now. It may not be exactly where I’d like it to be, but like Alan Moore says in Promethea, the apocalypse has already come and gone, but not all of us have realized it yet.

In time.

God, I despise time.

~ by hln351 on March 15, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
