Jesus Christ and Mary Magdalene

The first love story that captured my imagination and my heart was the (still) extremely controversial relationship between Jesus Christ and Mary Magdalene. Sometime in early 2004, I, like so many in the world, was completely shocked by the book The DaVinci Code. As a child who grew up partly in a Catholic environment, and who had seriously considered becoming a nun at the age of 13/14, the premise of the book was as foreign to me as anything could possibly be. Of course, like George Carlin once famously said, “I was Catholic until I reached the age of reason,” and by the time I was in the middle of The DaVinci Code, my heart had already been open to things like this for quite some time. But this idea, the very suggestion that Mary Magdalene had not only never been a prostitute, but was the favorite of Christ, and also rumored to be his lover. Some even say wife. I was floored. It shook me up. The day after I finished the book, I went out to the nearest book store and bought every single book I could find on the subject. I read and read and read from 2004 until 2007, every book, news article, whatever I could find. The thing is- though I reserved judgement until I’d read all the facts, I knew the moment I read DaVinci Code that there was absolute truth to this story. I felt it in my heart, immediately. It set me on a journey, a spiritual awakening that changed me completely as a person. It also came after a traumatic event in my life, and the story of Mary Magdalene as Goddess, wife of Christ, his equal and his rock, and symbol of the Sacred Feminine restored everything that had been lost to me, especially my femininity. I had her symbol, the vesica piscis, and her gematria number tattooed on me so I’d be reminded every day of how her story gave me strength, and courage during a time when I needed it the most.

Now, looking back on that, as I jot down ideas and flesh out these into stories, there’s one thing that always bothered me about all the books I read about Christ and Magdalene. They are rumored, and it’s backed up with a fairly substantial amount of evidence, to have been husband and wife. In some legends, they had a child. I’m not entirely sure about the latter since there’s no real evidence for that, but its irrelevant, anyway. What matters is the nature of the connection between Jesus and Mary, and this is what bothers me: if they were truly married, then there was a love story leading up to that, a revolutionary love story, and they were undoubtedly sexually active as husband and wife. But every single thing I’ve read tip toes around this. Why? It’s discussed objectively, it’s hinted at, but never truly explored. Why not? The love story between the purported son of God and a wealthy and extremely intelligent woman from the tribe of Benjamin- what on earth could match that? It’s exceptionally relevant, especially now as gender roles continue to change, women’s rights are still evolving, and religion’s iron grip on society is beginning to lessen more every day. So why can’t we talk about it? Why can’t we explore their love story? And I don’t mean a round table discussion, dammit, I mean a real look at the flesh and blood love between these two. They were not only two of the most historically significant individuals to ever live, but are the modern symbols for the Bride and Bridegroom, the Dying and Rising God and the Mother Goddess. Where is their actual love story?

The film/book The Last Temptation of Christ kind of went there, but only as a fantasy- Christ sees an angel come take him off the cross as he’s dying so he can escape death and live in marital bliss with Mary Magdalene. During this scene (not a fan, actually, due to its blatant misogyny) Judas reminds him that his fate is to die on the cross as the son of God, not dwell among women and children as if he were just a man. Ugh- this scene drives me insane every time I see it. No, just no. I mean, I understand the point they’re trying to drive home, but the way it’s done- just no. Anyway- the musical Jesus Christ Superstar kind of went there as well, but once again, the issue of their relationship was danced around, and never truly tackled. (But, it’s a musical so what was I expecting, right.)

I’ve decided that if I’m going to go there, and explore their flesh and blood love story, I’ll probably have to do it mostly subtextually to make it more relatable, maybe by updating their story to modern times, using parallels from the Gnostic Gospels and the Canonical Gospels, and the extensive research by the historians who specialize in this subject. I haven’t visited this subject in quite some time, so I’ve had to start from the beginning again (good thing I never got rid of any of those books I bought a decade ago). It’s something I definitely want to do- I’d like to give these two the Eros chronicle, and unearth the dusty bones of their magnetic attraction to one another. Their love story was so controversial that it had to be buried completely, and I want them to be made human again, made lovers, and that I get a chance to peek in on the two people whose union so terrified the church fathers that it had to be utterly dismantled and buried for 2000 years. They are the symbol of the balance between masculine and feminine, which is something we are never not going to need as a species.

Honestly, when I first saw the subtext in Sherlock, the effect on me was eerily similar to how Mary and Jesus affected me, and the first story idea I had was this one. Sherlock and John have been denied their day in the sun for 150 years- Mary and Jesus for two millennia. I’ve decided to focus on this story over all others right now because it’s been building up in me for far too long. And I think I owe it to Mary Magdalene because her story turned my past lead into gold.

~ by hln351 on February 27, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
