Anne and Henry

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=X14JveJpggU

Ok, look, I know this show isn’t historically accurate. I know that. But, I never watched this show for historical accuracy anyway (I get that from the books I read and reread about Anne Boleyn- I’m in love with her), I watched the show for these two. (Yes, I know Johnathan Rhys-Meyers bears no resemblance whatsoever to Henry VIII). The chemistry, the passion between these two is- well, look at that scene, and tell me it doesn’t melt your screen. They’re on fucking fire. I’ve watched every episode with Henry and Anne countless times, and this scene is my favorite. They get off on the power play between them, and that’s definitely something I want to explore in my own writing. That kind of set up almost always ends in destruction for one or both involved, but while it lasts, it creates the most wondrous, inimitable tension. Quite like the scene from Dangerous Liasons.

I was in a set-up like this once. It did in fact destroy me- I cannot speak for what happened to the other individual involved as we are no longer in each other’s life. But before all the crash and burn, it was the most delirious high I’ve ever experienced in my life. He was an equal, soulmate, a reflection of my own soul. It killed me, but I don’t regret a single moment spent with him, not one. And every time I watch this scene, I am reminded of him. He’s gone now, and probably for the best (I’m sure he’d agree), but there isn’t a day that passes where I don’t think of him, where I don’t feel like a part of my heart is gone. We would’ve never worked long-term, never- we were too much alike, and we battled each other constantly. But, I’ll never feel a passion like that again, and I know it. And honestly, I hope I never do feel it again- that kind of fire burns too throughly. It’s best left in fiction. Peace best left to real life.

~ by hln351 on February 10, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
