Birth

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=6qp-EWjfyKc

Then there are stories like this that venture into controversial territory. The film really has to be viewed in its entirety to understand the scene, but the fact remains that it’s a near love story between a grown woman and a 10 year old boy who believes he is the reincarnation of Kidman’s late husband. It’s uncomfortable at times, but in scenes like this, the eroticism is palpable. This is a parallel to similar events that happen in the real world- and all are painted with the same brush. This isn’t about pedophilia, nor is it about sexual abuse. Those are very different conversations. And though it may be wrong, there can be exceptions- I am venturing into dangerous ground here, but I speak from experience. When I was 14/15, I had a near affair with my history TA in high school. He was in his mid 20s. He did not make the first move, I did. Not saying he was innocent- not at all, but I seduced him. I was the instigator. And we were eventually found out, and he was forced to leave his position at the high school. Had I taken it as far as I wanted, he would’ve been arrested and charged with statutory rape. He’d have been labeled a pedophile. For what? That he should’ve had better judgement? Maybe he should have, but I’m hard to resist when I’ve got my claws on someone- it wasn’t his fault. It was mine. And he wasn’t the last one, either, there were others. So, I take stories like Birth/American Beauty/Death in Venice in stride because I’ve been there. Birth is a bit extreme because of how young he is, and that’s why it’s uncomfortable at times- I’m absolutely against anyone being taken before sexual maturity- that is pedophilia, that is sexual abuse. That can fuck someone up for life. But in those instances where teenagers have reached that time in development when sex becomes a preoccupation, anything can happen. They can be attracted to those older than themselves, they can make the first move. There can be chemistry. Leave it to your opinion on whether the “adult” in the situation should refuse the advances, but these things happen, we see it in the news all the time. And I’ve *been there.* I wasn’t abused, I wasn’t taken against my will, I was a very willing, willful seducer. So, I don’t think all stories like these should be looped together- it very much depends on the situation and those involved. This idea is something I very, very much wish to explore in context of story and song, especially considering I’ve that bit of experience. It won’t make me popular, that’s for damn sure. I’m sure this post will put a scarlet letter on my fucking forehead. But I don’t care about that. I want to explore it.

Hell, one of my favorite love stories ever is Armand and Marius from Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles- Armand is 15 when he becomes Marius’ lover, Marius is a 1000 year old vampire who was in his 40s when he was made. Like I said, depends on the situation and the people involved.

And the eroticism in this scene from Birth is there, it’s fucking there, no matter how uncomfortable or taboo it is. It’s there. And we have to deal with that somehow.

~ by hln351 on February 7, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
